About Chris

A confident, fully-grown composing talent.

The washington post

Hailed as a “confident new musical voice” (The New York Times), a “big discovery” (The Philadelphia Inquirer) and a “fully-grown composing talent” (The Washington Post), Chris Rogerson’s music has been praised for its “haunting beauty” and “virtuosic exuberance” (The New York Times). Rogerson’s music is often characterized by its lyricism: recent notable works include Of Simple Grace, for cellist Yo-Yo Ma, and his first book of Nocturnes, written for ten different pianists around the globe including Jeremy Denk, Anne-Marie McDermott, and Ursula Oppens. His work also often evokes a sense of place: Four Autumn Landscapes, a clarinet concerto written for Anthony McGill, is a portrait of his childhood home in Buffalo, New York; String Quartet No. 4, commissioned for the Escher Quartet, draws from his experience in a remote corner of Afghanistan. Rogerson’s music has been programmed at venues around the world including Carnegie Hall, the Library of Congress, the Kennedy Center, Wigmore Hall in London, Prague’s Rudolfinum, Radio France, and the Musikverein in Vienna.

The 2021-22 season brings several major orchestral premieres: a new piano concerto for Anne-Marie McDermott, commissioned by the Bravo! Vail Festival; The Little Prince, a new violin concerto for Benjamin Beilman, commissioned by the Kansas City Symphony; and Sacred Earth, for mezzo-soprano J’Nai Bridges with video by Emmy-nominated director and National Geographic photographer Keith Ladzinski. In addition, the Dover Quartet premieres two works: Dream Sequence, Rogerson’s new 40-minute piano quintet, with Anne-Marie McDermott, as well as Arietta, with bassist Edgar Meyer. This season, Mr. Rogerson also continues as Composer-in-Residence of the Allentown Symphony, which premieres a new orchestral work, as well as Artistic Advisor of the Amarillo Symphony.

Major recent premieres include Azaan, a play written for the Oregon Symphony in collaboration with Dipika Guha, It Became Dark, commissioned and premiered by the Kansas City Symphony; and Thirty Thousand Days, commissioned by Chamber Music Northwest for David Shifrin and the Dover Quartet. Other recent commissions and performances have come from the Atlanta, Houston, Indianapolis, Milwaukee, New Jersey, New World, and San Francisco symphonies, the Buffalo Philharmonic, and the Orchestra of St. Luke’s. His work has been featured in a broad variety of mediums, from comedian Joe Pera’s web series “How to Make It in USA” to ballet by choreographer Claudia Schreier.

 Born in 1988, Mr. Rogerson studied at the Curtis Institute of Music, Yale School of Music, and Princeton University with Jennifer Higdon, Aaron Jay Kernis, Martin Bresnick, and Steve Mackey. He is represented by Young Concert Artists, Inc. and served as YCA Composer-in-Residence from 2010-2012. He also is one of two composers on the roster of Manhattan Chamber Players. In 2012, he co-founded Kettle Corn New Music, a new music presenting organization in New York City, and currently serves as its co-artistic director. In 2016, Mr. Rogerson joined the Musical Studies Faculty at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia, where he lives full-time.

View Compositions

see all