"A confident new musical voice."

The New York Times

"A prodigy in a field well-acquainted with prodigies."

The Chicago Sun-Times

"A confident, fully-grown composing talent."

The Washington Post

"Inspired, well-devised touches throughout. Mr. Rogerson has a gift for transitions, for moving us from moment to moment, section to section, while maintaining the coherence of the work as a whole.”
Anthony Tommasini
  —  The New York Times
“A confident, fully-grown composing talent.”
  —  The Washington Post
“A prodigy in a field well-acquainted with prodigies.”
  —  Chicago Sun-Times

Latest News

Read More
May 15, 2023

Chris Rogerson Awarded 2022 Stoeger Prize from Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

“We are personally delighted that this year’s Stoeger jury has selected Chris Rogerson as the 2022 recipient of the prize,” said CMS Artistic Directors Wu Han and David Finckel. “Chris’s music embodies all that we look for in the works of today’s chamber music composers: genuine inspiration; knowledgeable and skillful instrumental writing; a combination of immediate appeal and intriguing challenge which invites further hearings; and very importantly, a true sense of the very nature of chamber music as an art form of dialogue between equals. In addition, Chris has proven to be very much a ‘performer’s composer’ in that so many fine players have asked for works from him. Their advocacy and passion, combined with new music of real quality, is what truly drives our art form forward.”
Read More
September 19, 2022

Anne-Marie McDermott and the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra Premiere "Samaa'"

In late June 2022, Anne-Marie McDermott and the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra premiered "Samaa'", a new piano concerto commissioned by Bravo! Vail to commemorate Anne-Marie's 10 years as Artistic Director of the organization.
Read More
September 16, 2022

Premiere at La Jolla SummerFest

'Til it was dark, for violin, viola, cello, bass, and piano premieres at La Jolla SummerFest to rave review

Upcoming Events

No items found.

Recent Works

Vocal Works
Sign for My Father, Who Stressed the Bunt

voice plus string quartet

8 minutes

Learn More
Vocal Works

SATB chorus + orchestra

8 minutes

Learn More
Soloist + Orchestra
Violin Concerto No. 1

solo violin, 3-3-3-3, 4-3-3-1, timp+3 perc, hp, pno/cel, strings

25 minutes

Learn More
Soloist + Orchestra
Samaa' for piano, gongs, and strings

solo piano, tuned gongs, strings

20 minutes

Learn More


Send a message directly to Chris by using the form below, or get in touch with management using the contact info at the bottom of the page.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.