August 17, 2022

Dream Sequence premieres at Bravo! Vail

For some reason, I seem to keep writing music about dreams. There has been much scientific research about people having vivid dreams as a result of quarantining. This work, in five movements, is essentially a “dream sequence”. The first movement presents later ideas of the piece in fractured form, the muted strings “practicing”their later figuration; this gives way to a rocking lullaby. The second movement,“Nightmare I”, is steady and tense; the third movement is a tender lullaby and a nod to Ravel. The fourth movement is a more frozen, stricken nightmare. Finally,“Afterword” is an extended version of a previous work written for two violins and piano. This expansive movement opens with the same chords as the very opening of the piece; I try to evoke a sense of timelessness while also capturing the sweetness and poignancy of sleep. This work is dedicated to my sister Bethany and my brother-in-law, Anthony.

-Chris Rogerson, Summer 2020

Review from the Santa Fe premiere here:

More Posts
Read More
Sep 13, 2022

Anne-Marie McDermott and the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra Premiere "Samaa'"

In late June 2022, Anne-Marie McDermott and the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra premiered "Samaa'", a new piano concerto commissioned by Bravo! Vail to commemorate Anne-Marie's 10 years as Artistic Director of the organization.
Read More
Sep 10, 2022

Premiere at La Jolla SummerFest

'Til it was dark, for violin, viola, cello, bass, and piano premieres at La Jolla SummerFest to rave review
Read More
Aug 25, 2022

Soovin Kim and Sinta Quartet premiere "Meditation" at Chamber Music Northwest

Soovin Kim and Sinta Quartet premiered "Meditation" at Chamber Music Northwest in late July 2022.